State of Origin – 2017


At Hotel Urban we just love our footy, and, having a hotel in both Brisbane AND Sydney, our rivalry starts to get pretty fierce every year around State of Origin time.


Not from Queensland, New South Wales, or just live under a rock? Here’s a little history about the three rugby league games played between the Queensland Maroons (Canetoads) and the New South Wales Blues (Cockroaches), which turn mate against mate, and state against state.


State of Origin is a best-of-three series played against two teams, Queensland and New South Wales over Winter.  The games themselves alternate to be played in both Sydney and Brisbane, between the best of the best National Rugby League (NRL) players.


The players are selected from the ‘State of Origin’ – from where they played their first senior rugby league game.


Of the 35 full series played since its inception in 1980, Queensland have won 20, New South Wales 13, with 2 series drawn. So it’s safe to safe, the Blues have got a lot of ground to make up in the coming years.


The 2017 State of Origin Schedule is as follows:


Game I: Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane – 31 May 2017


Game II: ANZ Stadium, Sydney – 21 June 2017


Game III: Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane – 12 July 2017


Kickoff is at 8.00pm AEST.

Sure Café, located at Hotel Urban St Leonards will be offering extended trading hours during the games, and both St Leonards, and Hotel Urban Brisbane will be showing the game live on the night.

 Did you know you can walk to Suncorp Stadium from Hotel Urban Brisbane in under 30 minutes? If you are heading to Queensland for the first or second game, be sure to book your accommodation in advance and rooms are filling up fast!